Humboldt State University has launched a nationwide search for the next Provost (Vice President for Academic Affairs).

The search for a new Provost follows the appointment of Dr. Alexander Enyedi to serve as the President of SUNY Plattsburgh effective January 21, 2020.

In alignment with the Faculty Handbook , the President has appointed a committee comprised of administrators, faculty, staff and students. 


All Dates are Subject to Change

Task/MilestoneTarget Date
Leadership ProfileWeek of February 3
Search Committee Update CallWeek of March 9
Candidate ReviewWeek of April 6
1st Round InterviewsWeek of April 20
2nd Round InterviewsWeek of May 4

Provost Search Committee

Chair: Shawna H. Young, Dean, College of Professional Studies

Dean appointed by the President or designee

Shawna H. Young, Dean, College of Professional Studies
Dale Oliver, Dean and Professor of Mathematics, College of Natural Resources & Sciences

Vice President appointed by the President or designee

Jason Meriwether, Vice President of Enrollment Management

Non-Academic staff members selected by the President or designee

Amber Blakeslee, University Budget Director
Sherie Cornish Gordon, Chief of Staff

University Senate Appointment, CPS Faculty

Amber M. Gaffney, Assistant Professor of Psychology, Department of Psychology

University Senate Appointment, CNRS Faculty

David F. Greene, Chair and Professor, Department of Forestry & Wildland Resources

University Senate Appointment, CAHSS Faculty

John M. Meyer, Chair and Professor, Department of Politics

University Senate Appointment, University Library

Brianne Hagen, Discovery and Metadata Services Librarian

Associated Students Appointment (Undergraduate)

Rachel Mack

Associated Students Appointment (Graduate)

Zane Eddy

President appointment in consultation with the Executive Committee of Senate

Edelmira Reynoso, Interim Executive Director of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion

Staff Council Appointment as a Staff Representative

Christiana Gomez Frye, Program Coordinator, Department of Psychology


Questions about the search process
may be directed to:

Shawna Young, Committee Chair
Dean, College of Professional Studies

Kay Libolt, Committee Administrative Liaison
Presidential Aide

Search Consultants

Questions about the process for the firm can be directed to: